Skip to Main Content TasTAFE Library

New Stuff: Featured New Books

New resources added to the library shelves
Marine plants of Australia

Wear next : fashioning the future

Hope

Big love : reclaiming myself, my people, my country

Galah : stories of life outside the city : people, places, community

Say the thing : boundary-setting scripts & phrases to communicate directly & speak up with kindness

Kindness

I'll let myself in : breaking down doors, claiming space and finding your wheels

Good with money : reprogram your spending habits and take control of your money

Don't stress, just invest : it's time to set up your investments and get on with your life

Toxic legacy : how the weedkiller glyphosate is destroying our health and the environment

How do we relationship?. 1

Fashion's big night out : a Met Gala lookbook

What makes a garden

The first scientists

The interior design handbook : furnish, decorate, and style your space

The ChatGPT revolution : how to simplify your work and life admin with AI

Time to reboot : feminism in the algorithm age

Amharic student dictionary : English-Amharic, Amharic-English

Advanced automotive fault diagnosis : automotive technology : vehicle maintenance and repair

Maths & English for hospitality and catering : graduated exercises and practice exam

Secret world of weather : how to read signs in every cloud, breeze, hill, street, plant, animal, and dewdrop

Australian bushcraft : a guide to survival and camping

Teaching poetry for pleasure and purpose

The coffee book : barista tips, recipes, beans from around the world

The perfect tonic : the remarkable medicinal history of beer, wine, spirits and cocktails

How to drink Australian : an essential modern wine book

Grease junkie : a book of moving parts : from wheeler dealer restorations to incredible new inventions

Leaf supply : a guide to keeping happy houseplants

Arthritis

The social life of kimono : Japanese fashion past and present

Gloves and glove-making

Hand-painted textiles : a practical guide to the art of painting on fabric

Cramm this book : so you know WTF is going on in the world today

Assassination classroom. Volume 2, Time for grown-ups

Kombucha, kefir & natural sodas

Low & no alcohol cocktails

How to make better cocktails : cocktail techniques, pro-tips and recipes

MEM12024 Perform computations

The naked salon : an essential guide to time, team and money for salon owners

Sweet France : The 100 Best Recipes from the Greatest French Pastry Chefs

Bush mechanics : from Yuendumu to the world

Auto repair

Tasmanian tiger : the tragic story of the thylacine

Getting to know the birds in your neighbourhood : a field guide

The forest wars : the ugly truth about what's happening in our tall forests

Artificial intelligence applications in agriculture

The compost coach : make compost, build soil and grow a regenerative garden - wherever you live!

Improving photosynthetic efficiency in sports turf

A kind of magic : a memoir about anxiety, our minds, and optimism in spite of it all

French boulangerie : recipes and techniques from the Ferrandi School of Culinary Arts

The skincare answer book : answers to the most frequently asked skincare questions

Nailed it. : nails, fashion, technique

Art of the lips

Little book of Vivienne Westwood : the story of the iconic designer

The anti-capitalist book of fashion

Vintage Fashion

Little book of Balmain : the story of the iconic fashion house

Supporting positive behaviour in early childhood settings and primary schools : relationships, reciprocity and reflection

Technologies for children

Helping children become better readers : for parents, caregivers, teachers and aides

About face : Stonewall, revolt, and new queer art

Plants : past, present and future

The fires next time : understanding Australia's Black Summer

African textiles : colour and creativity across a continent

The cosplay book of ballgowns : a complete guide to creating your own masterpiece

Handwear handbook : make gloves, cuffs & vambraces for cosplay & beyond

1920s fashion : the definitive sourcebook

1930s fashion : the definitive sourcebook

Black Duck : a year at Yumburra

Too migrant, too Muslim, too loud : a memoir

In order to live : a North Korean girl's journey to freedom

<!-https://talis.ent.sirsidynix.net.au/client/en_AU/tafe/search/detailnonmodal/ent:$002f$002fSD_ILS$002f0$002fSD_ILS:1402576/one->

Bittersweet

Graphis new talent annual 2023

Loving country : a guide to sacred Australia

150 hotels you need to visit before you die

The pride atlas : 500 iconic destinations for queer travelers

Forgotten war

Heroes, rebels and radicals of convict Australia

Seasons in the south : a Tasmanian naturalist's journey of discovery - and recovery

An introduction to film and tv production : from concept to market

The history of graphic design : 1890-today

Vintage graphic design : type, typography, monograms & decorative design from the late 19th & early 20th centuries

Child observation : a guide for students of early childhood

Salt River Road

Darling girls

Social queue

How to be ace : a memoir of growing up asexual

Banksy : graffitied walls and wasn't sorry

An A-Z of creative teaching in higher education

The Swedish art of ageing well : life wisdom from someone who will (probably) die before you

Cybersafe for humans: a simple guide to keep you and your family safe online

7 days of dinner

Cyber wars : hacks that shocked the business world

Estes health assessment & physical examination

Evidence-based practice : across the health professions

Community health and wellness : primary health care in practice

Diversity

Book cover: Private lives 3 : the health and wellbeing of the LGBTIQ people in Australia

Book cover : Gaysia : adventures in the queer east

Seeking asylum : our stories-

Book cover : The T in LGBT : everything you need to know about being trans

Book cover : Greedy : notes from a bisexual who wants too much

Book Cover: This book is anti-racist

Book cover: The queen's english : the LGBTQIA+ dictionary of lingo and colloquial phrases

Book Cover: The welcome to country handbook

Book cover: The pronoun lowdown : demystifying and celebrating gender diversity

Practical reconciliation : strengthening relationships for all Australians in 7 easy steps

Book Cover: Sounds fake but okay : an asexual and aromantic perspective on love, relationships, sex, and pretty much anything else

The voice to parliament handbook : all the detail you need

Book Cover: Ace voices : what it means to be asexual, aromantic, demi or grey-ace

Finding the heart of the nation : the journey of the Uluru Statement from the Heart continues

Read this to get smarter : about race, class, gender, disability & more

Different, Not Less : A neurodivergent's guide to embracing your true self and finding your happily ever after

New humans of Australia : incredible stories from those who've come across the seas

The book of pride : LGBTQ heroes who changed the world

Everything you need to know about the Uluru Statement from the heart

From ace to ze : the little book of LGBT terms

Everything you need to know about the referendum to recognise indigenous Australians

The gay agenda : a modern queer history & handbook

Macquarie atlas of Indigenous Australia

Transgender history : the roots of today's revolution

The first astronomers : how indigenous elders read the stars

The dreaming path : indigenous thinking to change your life

Treaty and statehood : Aboriginal self-determination

luwa tara luwa waypa : three kangaroos, three Tasmanian Aboriginal men

Heroes, rebels and innovators : inspiring Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people from history

Sea Country

Revolution is for us : the left and gay liberation in Australia

Trauma trails, recreating song lines: the transgenerational effects of trauma in Indigenous Australia

Country : future fire, future farming

Children's Services

Helping children become better readers : for parents, caregivers, teachers and aides

Supporting positive behaviour in early childhood settings and primary schools : relationships, reciprocity and reflection

AAC visualized : a visual guide to augmentative and alternative communication

Technologies for children

What comes before phonics

Supporting mental health in primary and early years : a practice based approach

Child observation : a guide for students of early childhood

All cats are on the autism spectrum

All birds have anxiety

All about dyspraxia : understanding developmental coordination disorder

Making space for autism : strategies for assessing and modifying environments to meet the needs of autistic individuals.

Behaviour management and the role of the teaching assistant : a guide for schools

Staying safe online

Educational psychology for learning and teaching

Queering classrooms : personal narratives and educational practice to support LGBTQ youth in schools

Early childhood play matters : international teaching through play, birth to 6 years

Play matters : investigative learning for preschool to grade 2

Sharing

Designs for living and learning : transforming early childhood environments

Child protection : a guide for teachers and child care professionals

The Early Childhood Educator for Diploma

Creative ways to help children manage BIG feelings : a therapist's guide to working with preschool and primary children

Preschoolers at play : choosing the right stuff for learning & development

A fresh look at phonics, grades K-2 : common causes of failure and 7 ingredients for success

Play and inquiry in early childhood

Young children's community building in action : embodied, emplaced and relational citizenship

Theories of developmental psychology

Strong foundations : evidence informing practice in early childhood education and care

Scattered minds : the origins and healing of attention deficit disorder

The ADHD support handbook : a real-life guide to empowering a child with ADHD and related conditions

Enabled learning : educating a student with Down Syndrome in a primary school environment

Auspeld Understanding Learning Difficulties : A practical guide (revised edition).

Play in the early years

Equipped for reading success : a comprehensive, step-by-step program for developing phoneme awareness and fluent word recognition

How to be a superhero called self-control! : super powers to help younger children to regulate their emotions and senses

Child development : the developing child, communicating skilfully and nurturing competent learners

ADHD an A-Z : figuring it out step by step

The Australian autism handbook : the essential guide to parenting a child on the autism spectrum

The Anti-bias approach in early childhood

The early childhood educator for Certificate III

Education for a civil society: teaching young children to gain five democratic life skills

Learning theories for early years practice

Overcoming dyslexia : a major update and revision of the essential program for reading problems at any level, incorporating the latest breakthroughs in science, educational methods, technology, and legal accommodations

Community Services

Book cover: Peer support in mental health

Book cover: Peer work in Australia : a new future for mental health

Book cover: The one thing we've never spoken about : exposing our untold mental health crisis

Book cover: Social work : from theory to practice

Book cover: Mental health : a person-centred approach

Book cover: Interprofessional ethics : collaboration in the social, health and human services

Book cover: Lost connections : uncovering the real causes of depression -- and the unexpected solutions

Book cover: Good mourning : honest conversations about grief and loss

Book cover: Minding your mind

Book cover: Writing skills for social workers

Book cover: Tasmanian voices : the family violence epidemic : a handy reference guide that answers questions people may be too uncomfortable (or afraid) to ask

Chasing the scream : the search for the truth about addiction

Book cover: The myth of normal : trauma, illness & healing in a toxic culture

Read this to get smarter : about race, class, gender, disability & more

Book cover: You talk, we die : the battle for Victoria's first safe-injecting facility

Book cover: In the realm of hungry ghosts : close encounters with addiction

Poverty and inequality in Australia

Stolen generations and the way ahead

Book cover: Puff piece

Human rights and social work : towards rights-based practice

Understanding trauma and resilience

See what you made me do : power, control and domestic abuse

Becoming a helper

People skills: 25th anniversary edition

First steps in cognitive behaviour therapy

Motivational interviewing : helping people change

Looking forward through the lifespan : developmental psychology

Our national shame : violence against women

Social work : contexts and practice

Get up Mum

Blame changer : understanding domestic violence

Fixed it : violence and the representation of women in the media

The mindful guide to conflict resolution : how to thoughtfully handle difficult situations, conversations, and personalities

Hey warrior

Trauma trails, recreating song lines: the transgenerational effects of trauma in Indigenous Australia

Book cover: Human rights & social work : towards rights-based practice

Macquarie atlas of Indigenous Australia

Breaking the ice

Buzzed : the straight facts about the most used and abused drugs from alcohol to ecstasy

Addicted? : how addiction affects every one of us and what we can do about it

What happened to you? : conversations on trauma, resilience, and healing

Communication & interpersonal skills in social work

Basic Personal Counselling : a training manual for counsellors

Social work with indigenous communities : a human rights approach

Fashion & Textiles

New resources 2022-Creative industries

The anti-capitalist book of fashion

Wear next : fashioning the future

Hand-painted textiles : a practical guide to the art of painting on fabric

Gloves and glove-making

The social life of kimono : Japanese fashion past and present

Fashion's big night out : a Met Gala lookbook

Crafting textiles in the digital age

1930s fashion : the definitive sourcebook

1920s fashion : the definitive sourcebook

Handwear handbook : make gloves, cuffs & vambraces for cosplay & beyond

The cosplay book of ballgowns : a complete guide to creating your own masterpiece

African textiles : color and creativity across a continent

Little book of Balmain : the story of the iconic fashion house

Vintage Fashion

Little book of Vivienne Westwood : the story of the iconic designer

Research and design for fashion

Costing for the fashion industry

Developing a fashion collection

Digital textile design

The geometry of hand-sewing : a romance in stitches and embroidery from Alabama Chanin and the School of Making

Make + mend : sashiko-inspired embroidery projects to customize and repair textiles and decorate your home

How to set up & run a fashion label

9 heads : a guide to drawing fashion

The unofficial book of Cricut crafts : the ultimate guide to your electric cutting machine

Fashion thinking : creative approaches to the design process

How to break up with fast fashion : a guilt-free guide to changing the way you shop for good

The book of Boro : techniques and patterns inspired by traditional Japanese textiles

Couture unfolded : innovative pleats, folds and draping in fashion design = Plisses et creation :plis, plisses et drapes originaux pour la mode

The art of repair : mindful mending : how to stitch old things to new life

The act of sewing : how to make and modify clothes to wear every day

Everyday style : key pieces to sew + accessories, styling, and inspiration

The dangers of fashion : towards ethical and sustainable solutions

Make thrift mend : stitch, patch, darn, plant-dye & love your wardrobe

The fashion book.

Kimono : Kyoto to catwalk

Wardrobe crisis : how we went from Sunday best to fast fashion

Gabrielle Chanel : fashion manifesto

The lives of 50 fashion legends : visual biographies of the world's greatest designers.

Guide to fashion entrepreneurship : the plan, the product, the process

Patternmaking for dress design : 9 iconic styles from Empire to Cheongsam

Textile futures : fashion, design and technology

Pattern magic 2

Fashion embroidery : embroidery techniques and inspiration for haute-couture clothing

Fashion design research

Fashion styling

Street unicorns : bold expressionists of style

Pattern cutting

Visual merchandising : window displays and in-store experience

Circular fashion : making the fashion industry sustainable

Creating sustainable supply chains : stories of fashion, textiles and place

Designing fashion's future : present practice and tactics for sustainable change

Palette perfect : color combinations inspired by fashion, art & style

The hidden facts of fashion

Circular design for fashion

Costume and fashion : a concise history

Fabric for fashion : the complete guide

Modern fabric : twenty-five designers on their inspiration and craft

Africa in fashion : luxury, craft and textile heritage

The sartorialist man

The mending directory : over 50 modern stitch patterns for visible repairs

Make thrift mend : stitch, patch, darn, plant-dye & love your wardrobe

Modern fabric : twenty-five designers on their inspiration and craft

Fashion drive : extreme clothing in the visual arts

Draping : techniques for beginners

Pattern making : techniques for beginners

Sewing : techniques for beginners

A practical guide to sustainable fashion

Natural dyeing : learn how to create colour and dye textiles naturally

Fashion embroidery : embroidery techniques and inspiration for haute-couture clothing

Kaffe Fassett in the studio : behind the scenes with a master colorist

Advanced creative draping

Vintage details : a fashion sourcebook

Shoes : an illustrated history

Regenerative fashion : a nature-based approach to fibres, livelihoods and leadership

Plain weave

Hook, prod, punch, tuft : creative techniques with fabric and fibre

The fashion design toolkit : 18 patternmaking techniques for creative practice

A cultural history of Western fashion : from haute couture to virtual couture

The ultimate history of costume fashion : from prehistory to the present

Designing a fashion collection : 16 tutorials using manual and digital techniques

Fashion bags & accessories : creative design and production

The handbook of costume accessories

Regenerative fashion : a nature-based approach to fibres, livelihoods and leadership

Illustrated men : drawing and rendering the male fashion figure

Little book of Chanel by Lagerfeld : the story of the iconic fashion designer

Contemporary Muslim fashions

Graphic & Web Design

new resources 2022-graphics & web design

Making and breaking the grid : a graphic design layout workshop

The history of graphic design : 1890-today

Vintage graphic design : type, typography, monograms & decorative design from the late 19th & early 20th centuries

Procreate for beginners: a quick guide for beginners and artists to use Procreate and Apple Pencil on the iPad: draw, sketch, illustrate, paint, animate and create beautiful artworks

JavaScript : the definitive guide : master the world's most-used programming language

Database design for mere mortals : a hands-on guide to relational database design

The copywriter's handbook : a step-by-step guide to writing copy that sells

Home sweet home page

Learning PHP, MySQL & JavaScript : a step-by-step guide to creating dynamic websites

Technically wrong : sexist apps, biased algorithms, and other threats of toxic tech

In progress : see inside a lettering artist's sketchbook and process, from sketch to vector

The Design manual

Hair & Beauty

Hair clients for life! : guide for hairdressers to connect with and retain hair clients for life!

The naked salon : an essential guide to time, team and money for salon owners

The skincare answer book : answers to the most frequently asked skincare questions

Nailed it. : nails, fashion, technique

Art of the lips

For the love of hair : surviving and thriving in the business of hairdressing and life

Entanglement : the secret lives of hair

Skinside out

Mullet : a celebration of the classic Australian hairstyle

Milady standard updos

Tracey Cunningham's true color : the essential hair color handbook

Robert Jones' makeup masterclass : a complete course in makeup for all levels, beginner to advanced

NAIL ART DECK : tips, techniques, and 30 designs

Cosmetics marketing : strategy and innovation in the beauty industry

Skincare decoded : the practical guide to beautiful skin

Men's hairdressing : traditional and modern barbering

Milady skin care and cosmetic ingredients dictionary

Australian beauty : inspiration and advice from the beauty set

The Barber book

Nail style

Man vs. hair : 60 tutorials for handsome hair & stubble

The confident stylist

The skincare bible : your no-nonsense guide to great skin

Skinformation : a clean science guide to beautiful skin

Health, Aged Care & Disability

Arthritis

Community health and wellness : primary health care in practice

Introduction to public health

The M word : how to thrive in menopause

Nursing theorists and their work

A dictionary of nursing

Care of people with diabetes : a manual for healthcare practice

We need to talk about ageing : essential conversations and practical advice to navigate the ageing journey with confidence

Stories in chronic illness and disability : reflection, inquiry, action

AAC visualized : a visual guide to augmentative and alternative communication

Diabetes care at a glance

A kind of magic : a memoir about anxiety, our minds, and optimism in spite of it all

Before dementia : 20 questions you need to ask to help prevent, to prepare, to cope

Evidence-based practice : across the health professions

Estes health assessment & physical examination

Care at home for people living with dementia : delaying institutionalization, sustaining families

Caring for the Carer

Care technologies for ageing societies : an international comparison

Infection prevention and control in healthcare settings

Essentials of delirium : everything you really need to know for working in delirium care

Caring for the elderly and those with dementia

The manual handling revolution : how health professionals can achieve creative solutions for people with disabilities and their caregivers

The care of the older person

Beyond the reluctant move : a practical approach to emotional wellbeing in residential aged care facilities

Behind closed doors : one family's journey through the Australian aged care system

My parents are ageing, what the heck do I do? : understanding Australia's aged care system to support older loved ones at home

Love & autism

Growing up disabled in Australia

Montessori for elder and dementia care

We've got this : essays by disabled parents

Mental health nursing enhanced : applying theory to practice

Research methods and evidence-based practice

With the end in mind : how to live and die well

Health law in Australia

Exercise prescription case studies for clinical populations

Sailing the 7Cs to a satisfying lifestyle : guide for Recreation Activity Officers in residential aged care

Living with chronic illness and disability : principles for nursing practice

Health care and Indigenous Australians : cultural safety in practice

Chronic care Nursing : a framework for practice

Understanding pathophysiology

Scattered minds : the origins and healing of attention deficit disorder

Understanding the Australian health care system

Understanding health

Gerontological nursing : a holistic approach to the care of older people

Ross & Wilson anatomy and physiology in health and illness

Pharmacology in nursing : Australian and New Zealand 3rd edition

ADHD an A-Z : figuring it out step by step

Yatdjuligin : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander nursing and midwifery care

The clinical placement : an essential guide for nursing students

Mental health care

Disability visibility : first-person stories from the twenty-first century

But you don't look autistic at all / Bianca Toeps

Human development : a life-span view

Anatomy flash cards

Agriculture, Horticulture & Animal Studies

new resources 2022-agriculture, horticulture & science

Trades

MEM12024 Perform computations

Grease junkie : a book of moving parts : from wheeler dealer restorations to incredible new inventions

Gas services

Internet of things for smart buildings : Leverage IoT for smarter insights for buildings in the new and built environments

Making furniture : projects & plans

Materials for engineers and technicians

Building a house : framing practices

The cars of the 60s : a history of cars manufactured and assembled in Australia during the 1960s

Bush mechanics : from Yuendumu to the world

Eastern spirit

Auto repair

Advanced automotive fault diagnosis : automotive technology : vehicle maintenance and repair

Roadwork : theory and practice

Essential rainwater harvesting : a guide to home-scale system design

Sustainable home refurbishment : the Earthscan expert guide to retrofitting homes for efficiency

CNC milling for makers : basics - techniques - applications

Good clean fun : misadventures in sawdust at Offerman Woodshop

Collins complete woodworker's manual

AutoCAD 2022 : A Power Guide for Beginners and Intermediate Users

Hybrid, electric & fuel-cell vehicles

Super - power : Australia's low-carbon opportunity

Farm and workshop welding : everything you need to know to weld, cut, and shape metal

Beginner's guide to reading schematics

An underground guide to sewers : or : down, through and out in Paris, London, New York

Powering up : unleashing the clean energy supply chain

Pipe dreams : the urgent global quest to transform the toilet

A water story : learning from the past, planning for the future

Future of transport

Basics of carpentry & construction for Certificate II

Practical problems in mathematics for electricians

Machinery's handbook : a reference book for the manufacturing and mechanical engineer, designer, drafter, metalworker, toolmaker, machinist, hobbyist, educator, and student

Refrigeration & air conditioning technology

Revit architecture 2022 for designers

Welding for beginners : learn everything you need to know to weld, cut, and shape metal in your home studio

Today's technician : automotive brake systems

Learn to weld : beginning MIG welding and metal fabrication basics

Woodworking with power tools : tools, techniques & projects

Woodworking with hand tools : tools, techniques & projects

Automotive maintenance & light repair

Workbook to accompany automotive maintenance & light repair

Autonomous, connected, electric and shared vehicles : disrupting the automotive and mobility sectors

Laboratory Operations

Pathogenesis : how germs made history

Presenting scientific data in R : creating effective graphs and figures

The science of communicating science : the ultimate guide

The mutant project : inside the global race to genetically modify humans

Histology : a text and atlas : with correlated cell and molecular biology

Basic physics : a self-teaching guide

Inorganic chemistry

Mathematics for the clinical laboratory.

Chemical analysis : modern instrumentation and methods and techniques

Microbiology

Analytical food microbiology : a laboratory manual

Reactions : an illustrated exploration of elements, molecules, and change in the universe

Handbook for laboratory safety

Business

How to heal a workplace : tackle trauma, foster psychological safety and boost happiness at work

Spotting online scams and fraud

How to keep your stuff safe online

Cybersafe for humans: a simple guide to keep you and your family safe online

How to stay safe online : a digital self-care toolkit for developing resilience and allyship

Cyber wars : hacks that shocked the business world

Man-made : how the bias of the past is being built into the future

Stop complainers and energy drainers : how to negotiate work drama to get more done

Communicate to influence : how to inspire your audience to action

Linux bible : the comprehensive tutorial resource

The new executive assistant : exceptional executive office management

STORY IS EVERYTHING : mastering creative communication for business

FlexAbility : how high achievers beat burnout and find freedom in an overworked world

MANAGE PROJECTS SUCCESSFULLY

Project management

The introvert's edge to networking : work the room, leverage social media, develop powerful connections

Protecting your privacy

Podcasting made simple : the step by step guide on how to start a successful podcast from the ground up

Soft skills and professional tips for the office

Project management in the hybrid workplace

Basic security testing with Kali Linux test your computer system security by using the same tools and tactics as an attacker Daniel W. Dieterle.

The Essential 4-Step System for Leaders to Encourage Top Teamwork at Their Workplace: Improve Your Leadership Communication, Team Building and Employee Management Skills

The end of burnout : why work drains us and how to build better lives

Writing your plan for small business success

Fish! : a proven way to boost morale and improve results

Strengths finder 2.0

Marketing Management : marketing made simple - essentials of marketing

Find your why : a practical guide for discovering purpose for you and your team

Leaders eat last : why some teams pull together and others don't

Bakery

Sweet France : The 100 Best Recipes from the Greatest French Pastry Chefs

French boulangerie : recipes and techniques from the Ferrandi School of Culinary Arts

Pieometry : modern tart art and pie design for the eye and the palate

Good & sweet : a new way to bake with naturally sweet ingredients

Bread book : ideas and innovations from the future of grain, flour, and fermentation

Bien cuit : the art of bread

Mooncakes + milk bread : sweet & savory recipes inspired by Chinese bakeries

Japanese pâtisserie : exploring the beautiful and delicious fusion of East meets West

Baking with Dorie : sweet, salty & simple

Patisserie : master the art of French pastry

Bake

Hungry & fussy : easy & delicious gluten free baking for everyone

Incredible plant-based desserts : colorful vegan cakes, cookies, tarts, and other epic delights

Gloriously gluten free : sweet treats, cakes, tarts and desserts

Bake to be fit secretly healthy desserts : easy gluten-free, sugar-free, plant-based, or keto-friendly brownies, cookies, and cakes

Flowers

Lune : croissants all day, all night

The natural baker : a new way to bake using the best natural ingredients

The art of lamination II

New books 2022 Cookery-title box

Cookery

5 ingredients Mediterranean

7 days of dinner

Everything I love to cook

Take one fish : the new school of scale-to-tail cooking and eating

Grains for every season : rethinking our way with grains

Cinnamon and salt

Taste Tibet : family recipes from the Himalayas

The illustrated foods of India

Simple and easy : Indian cooking

Falastin : a cookbook

To Asia, with love

Saka saka : adventures in African cooking, south of the Sahara

Africola : slow food, fast words, cult chef

Mexico : the cookbook

Mabu Mabu : an Australian kitchen cookbook

The flavor equation : the science of great cooking explained + more than 100 essential recipes

Koji alchemy : rediscovering the magic of mold-based fermentation

The sustainable chef : the environment in culinary arts, restaurants, and hospitality

101 things I learned in culinary school

The River Cottage preserves handbook

The River Cottage Fermentation handbook

Sharp : the definitive introduction to knives, sharpening, and cutting techniques, with recipes from great chefs

Charcuterie from scratch : slow down, cure, dry, salt and preserve

Salads are more than leaves : salads to get excited about

Understanding food : principles and preparation

Understanding nutrition

Food & nutrition : sustainable food and health systems

The science of spice : understand flavour connections and revolutionize your cooking

Chicken and charcoal : yakitori, Yardbird, Hong Kong

Chicken genius : the art of Toshi Sakamaki's yakitori cuisine

The ultimate companion to meat : on the farm, at the butcher, in the kitchen

Cooking meat : a butcher's guide to choosing, buying, cutting, cooking, and eating meat

Institut Paul Bocuse gastronomique : the definitive step-by-step guide to culinary excellence : key techniques, ingredients and recipes explained in 1,800 photographs

Escoffier : le guide culinaire

The Franklin barbecue collection : Franklin barbecue and Franklin steak

The River Cottage outdoor cooking handbook

Sauces : classical and contemporary sauce making

Ferment

Hungry & fussy : easy & delicious gluten free baking for everyone

Complete preserves : easy and delicious recipes for making and using your own preserves

Incredible plant-based desserts : colorful vegan cakes, cookies, tarts, and other epic delights

Gloriously gluten free : sweet treats, cakes, tarts and desserts

Bake to be fit secretly healthy desserts : easy gluten-free, sugar-free, plant-based, or keto-friendly brownies, cookies, and cakes

Not just jam : the Fat Pig Farm book of preserves, pickles & sauces

Six seasons : a new way with vegetables

The home butcher : simple, modern techniques for processing beef, lamb, sheep & goat, pork, poultry & fowl, rabbit, venison & other game

Secrets of the butcher : how to select, cut, prepare, and cook every type of meat

Story on a plate : the delicate art of plating dishes

The 4-hour chef : the simple path to cooking like a pro, learning anything, and living the good life

Mushrooms : over 70 recipes that celebrate our favourite fungi

COOK

Igni : a restaurant's first year

The greatest ever vegetarian cookbook

The food of France : a regional celebration

Fare exchange : Australia's great chefs share their recipes

Is this a cookbook? : adventures in the kitchen

The greatest ever vegetarian cookbook

Moro easy

Hoppers

First Nations food companion : how to buy, grow, cook and eat Indigenous Australian ingredients

Wild meat : the complete guide to cooking game

Flowers

Home charcuterie : make your own bacon, sausages, salami and other cured meats

Jerky everything : foolproof and flavorful recipes for beef, pork, poultry, game, fish, fruit, and even vegetables

Sous Vide Cookbook : 100+easy, foolproof recipes for vacuum cooking

Neighbourhood : salads, sweets and stories from home and abroad

Family : new vegetable classics to comfort and nourish

Tenderheart : a book about vegetables and unbreakable family bonds

Community : salad recipes from Arthur Street Kitchen

The real food companion

OTK : extra good things / Noor Murad & Yotam Ottolenghi ; photography by Elena Heatherwick.

This is a book about dumplings

This is a book about noodles

Sydney Seafood School cookbook

Plantlab : crafting the future of food

Smith & deli-cious : food from our deli (that happens to be vegan)

Vegan with bite

Falafel for breakfast : modern Middle Eastern recipes for any time of the day from Kepos Street Kitchen

The elements of dessert

Hot, hot, hot : cooking with fire and spice

Tourism & Hospitality

How to drink Australian : an essential modern wine book

The perfect tonic : the remarkable medicinal history of beer, wine, spirits and cocktails

The coffee book : barista tips, recipes, beans from around the world

Kombucha, kefir & natural sodas

Low & no alcohol cocktails

How to make better cocktails : cocktail techniques, pro-tips and recipes

Maths & English for hospitality and catering : graduated exercises and practice exam

Towns of Tasmania : a journey through time. 2

Secret world of weather : how to read signs in every cloud, breeze, hill, street, plant, animal, and dewdrop

Australian bushcraft : a guide to survival and camping

Experience Tasmania

The Van Diemen anthology 2023 : the best of the Van Diemen History Prize 2022-2023

Where architects sleep : the most stylish hotels in the world

A short history of Tasmania

Chocolatier : Anvers, Tasmania

Towns of Tasmania : a journey through time

Seasons in the south : a Tasmanian naturalist's journey of discovery - and recovery

The compact Australian bird guide

Heroes, rebels and radicals of convict Australia

Forgotten war

The pride atlas : 500 iconic destinations for queer travelers

150 hotels you need to visit before you die

Loving country : a guide to sacred Australia

Worldwide destinations casebook : the geography of travel and tourism

Recovering convict lives : a historical archaeology of the Port Arthur Penitentiary

A-Z of convicts in Van Diemen's Land

The world atlas of coffee : from beans to brewing - coffees explored, explained and enjoyed

The Japanese saké bible

The world atlas of gin : explore the gins of more than 50 countries

The Seedlip cocktail book

Wine folly : magnum edition : the master guide

The world atlas of wine

The sommelier's atlas of taste : a field guide to the great wines of Europe

Wine simple : a totally approachable guide from a world-class sommelier

A practical guide to managing tourist experiences

Food safety

Living with Jezebel : a life on Tasmanian and Bass Strait lighthouses

Safe passage : the lighthouses of Tasmania : the history of Tasmania's 14 manned lighthouses ... and the ships that supplied them

Cellarmanship : how to keep, serve and sell real ale

The professional guide's handbook : how to lead adventure travel trips and expeditions

Great properties of Tasmania

Truth-telling at Risdon Cove

Tasmania v. British Empire : the battle to end convict transportation

More yesterday's Hobart today

Old sea dogs of Tasmania : stories and photographs from the southern seas

Undiscovered Tasmania : a local's guide to finding adventure : discover, adventure, roam, experience

Food tourism : a practical marketing guide

Mass tourism in a small world

Overtourism : excesses, discontents and measures in travel and tourism

Service failures and recovery in tourism hospitality : a practical manual

Special interest tourism : concepts, contexts and cases

Explore Australia 2023 : Australia's essential travel guide

The travel book : a journey through every country in the world.

Mocktail party : 75 plant-based, non-alcoholic mocktail recipes for every occasion

Mindful mixology : a comprehensive guide to no- and low-alcohol cocktails

Sustainability in the hospitality industry : principles of sustainable operations

Introduction to hospitality

Cleansing the colony : transporting convicts from New Zealand to Van Diemen's Land

Field guide to the seashores of South-Eastern Australia

Wine from another galaxy : Noble Rot

The pebble spotter's guide

How to navigate : the art of traditional map and compass navigation in an Australian context

Music, Sound Production & Screen

The filmmaker's eye : the language of the lens : the power of lenses and the expressive cinematic image

The assistant lighting designer's toolkit

Basic cinematography : a creative guide to visual storytelling

Multi-camera cinematography and production : camera, lighting and other production aspects for multiple camera image capture

Cinematography for directors : a guide for creative collaboration

An introduction to film and tv production : from concept to market

Keys to the production office : unlocking success as an office production assistant in film & television

This is your brain on music : understanding a human obsession

Making it happen : how to create a sustainable career in the music industry

Key changes : the 10 times technology transformed the music industry

Keys to the production office : unlocking success as an office production assistant in film & television

Understanding design in film production : using art, light & locations to tell your story

Cinematography : theory and practice : for cinematographers and directors

Five straight lines : a history of music

Copyright & music publishing : a practical user's guide to copyright & music publishing

Film production management : how to budget, organize, and successfully shoot your film

Producer to producer : a step-by-step guide to low-budget independent film producing

Film marketing

The location sound bible : how to record professional dialog for film and TV

Running the show : the essential guide to being a first assistant director

Walkie check, good check

Beyond talent : creating a successful career in music

Making your mark in music : stage performance secrets : behind the scenes of artist development

Engaging the concert audience : a musician's guide to interactive performance

Producing for film and television

The Digital filmmaking handbook

Premiere Pro for filmmakers

Finding your career in the modern audio industry

The creative thinking handbook : your step-by-step guide to problem solving in business

Study Help

New resources 2022 - Study help

Master Critical Thinking for Teens: The Complete Guide to Improving Decision-Making Skills, Mastering Problem Solving, and Conquering Logical Fallacies

Teaching poetry for pleasure and purpose

Great answers to tough interview questions : your comprehensive job search guide with over 200 practice interview questions

Don't stress, just invest : it's time to set up your investments and get on with your life

Good with money : reprogram your spending habits and take control of your money

Oxford guide to plain English

The Australian students' guide to writing and grammar

Amharic student dictionary : English-Amharic, Amharic-English

Effective emails : the secret to straightforward communication at work

English grammar in use : a self-study reference and practice book for intermediate students of English : with answers

Skills for success : personal development and employability

Improve your grammar : the essential guide to accurate writing

The science student's guide to dissertations and research projects

Habits of success : getting every student learning

50 ways to excel at writing

Become a better thinker

Becoming a critical thinker

The science of stuck : breaking through inertia to find your path forward

The dyslexia, ADHD, and DCD-friendly study skills guide : tips and strategies for exam success

Speech to print : language essentials for teachers

English conversation

Phrasal verbs

Prepositions

Modernize your resume : get noticed ... get hired

High school transition that works! : lessons learned from Project SEARCH

Seen, heard, and valued : universal design for learning and beyond

Transform your teaching with Universal Design for Learning : six steps to jumpstart your practice

Oromo dictionary & phrasebook

Universal design for learning in action : 100 ways to teach all learners

We use maths : discover the real-life maths in everyday jobs!

How to be good at maths

New resources 2022- Information Technology Title box

Information Technology & Cyber Security

New resources 2022-ICT

Time to reboot : feminism in the algorithm age

Spotting online scams and fraud

How to stay safe online : a digital self-care toolkit for developing resilience and allyship

Cybersafe for humans: a simple guide to keep you and your family safe online

How to keep your stuff safe online

Linux basics for hackers : getting started with networking, scripting, and security in Kali

Practical malware analysis : the hands-on guide to dissecting malicious software

Cybersecurity essentials : the beginner's guide

Adversarial tradecraft in cybersecurity : offense versus defense in real-time computer conflict

Practical threat intelligence and data-driven threat hunting : a hands-on guide to threat hunting with the ATT&CK framework and open source tools

Running Xen : a hands-on guide to the art of virtualization

The Debian administrator's handbook

Cisco CyberOps Associate CBROPS 200-201 : official cert guide

Nmap network exploration and security auditing cookbook: network discovery and security scanning at your fingertips

Metasploit penetration testing cookbook : evade antiviruses, bypass firewalls, and exploit complex environments with the most widely used penetration testing framework

Kali Linux penetration testing bible

CCNA 200-301 official cert guide

Linux bible : the comprehensive tutorial resource

Protecting your privacy

Basic security testing with Kali Linux test your computer system security by using the same tools and tactics as an attacker Daniel W. Dieterle.

Cybersecurity all-in-one

The ChatGPT revolution : how to simplify your work and life admin with AI

New resources 2022-visual arts title box

Visual Arts

About face : Stonewall, revolt, and new queer art

Understanding comics : the invisible art

Botanical drawing : a step-by-step guide to drawing flowers, vegetables, fruit and other plant life

Petal : the world of flowers through an artist's eye

Great women artists

The art of Beatrix Potter : sketches, paintings, and illustrations

Artemisia Gentileschi

The V&A sourcebook of pattern & ornament

Graphis new talent annual 2023

Bittersweet

Mixed media textile art in three dimensions

Ceramics and print

Colours of art : the story of art in 80 palettes

Art monsters : unruly bodies in feminist art

Degas

Imaginative realism : how to paint what doesn't exist

Mastering the art of landscapes : a step-by-step course with over 30 drawing and painting projects and 800 photographs

The botanical art of William T. Cooper

The collage ideas book

Anh's brush with fame. Series 2.

All the colors of life

Vitamin C : clay + ceramic in contemporary art.

Realistic animals in coloured pencil

https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?type=xw12&client=talis2&upc=&oclc=&isbn=9781782213475&issn=/LC.JPG

Painting happiness : creativity with watercolors

1500 color mixing recipes for oil, acrylic and watercolor : achieve precise color when painting landscapes, portraits, still lifes, and more

Cutting edge : modern British printmaking

Mastering sculpture : the figure in clay : a guide to capturing the human form for ceramic artists

Dürer

Titian

Indigenous artists : a selection of the best - the Torch collection

The Design manual

Fantasy creatures : the ultimate guide to mastering digital painting techniques

Interior Design

The interior design handbook : furnish, decorate, and style your space

Principles of style

Design lives here : Australian interiors, furniture and lighting

My bedroom is an office & other interior design dilemmas

The new mindful home and how to make it yours

Hand drafting for interior design

The touch : spaces designed for the senses

Small but smart : design solutions for mini homes

Design by nature : creating layered, lived-in spaces inspired by the natural world

new books 2022-general title box

General

How to heal a workplace : tackle trauma, foster psychological safety and boost happiness at work

Gaysia : adventures in the queer east

The Swedish art of ageing well : life wisdom from someone who will (probably) die before you

An A-Z of creative teaching in higher education

Transgender Australia : a history since 1910

Seeking asylum : our stories

Döstädning : the gentle art of Swedish death cleaning

I don't need therapy : (and other lies I've told myself)

Anti-racism kit : a guide for high school students

Drag : the complete story

The home-scale forest garden : how to plan, plant, and tend a resilient edible landscape

Emotional intelligence for the modern workplace : a guide to developing emotional intelligence and ensuring psychological safety

Vocational training and assessment

Good mourning : honest conversations about grief and loss

Anti-racism : powerful voices, inspiring ideas

This book is anti-racist

Connecting with students online : strategies for remote teaching & learning

Black Duck : a year at Yumburra

Too migrant, too Muslim, too loud : a memoir

Mark Beretta's greatest moments in Australian sport

Alone time : embracing solitude for health and well-being

I'll let myself in : breaking down doors, claiming space and finding your wheels

Kindness

Say the thing : boundary-setting scripts & phrases to communicate directly & speak up with kindness

What's your type? : the story of the Myers-Briggs, and how personality testing took over the world

Cramm this book : so you know WTF is going on in the world today

Visual thinking : the hidden gifts of people who think in pictures, patterns, and abstractions

The science of learning : 99 studies that every teacher needs to know

Greedy : notes from a bisexual who wants too much

Gurawul the whale : an ancient story for our time

Phosphorescence : on awe, wonder & things that sustain you when the world goes dark

Songlines : the power and promise

Women don't owe you pretty

Improve your communication skills : how to build trust, be heard and communicate with confidence

How to talk to absolutely anyone : confident communication for work, life and relationships

Anzac battlefield : a Gallipoli landscape of war and memory

Take your lunch break : helpful tips for relieving work-related stress

The four tendencies : the indispensable personality profiles that reveal how to make your life better (and other people's lives better, too)

Ace voices : what it means to be asexual, aromantic, demi or grey-ace

The Queen is dead

Seen, heard, and valued : universal design for learning and beyond

Solace : portraits of queer Chinese Youth

Pride against prejudice : reminiscences of a Tasmanian Aborigine

What color is your parachute? for teens : discover yourself, design your future, and plan for your dream job

Practical reconciliation : strengthening relationships for all Australians in 7 easy steps

Goblin mode : how to get cozy, embrace imperfection, and thrive in the muck

Resume 101 : how to write an effective resume, LinkedIn profile, and cover letter

The job closer : time-saving techniques for acing resumes, interviews, negotiations, and more

This book is anti-racist

Connecting with students online : strategies for remote teaching & learning

The welcome to country handbook : a guide to Indigenous Australia

Junior Fiction and Non-Fiction

The first scientists

One small island : the story of Macquarie Island

Freedom day

Koori Princess

Guardians

Banksy : graffitied walls and wasn't sorry

The librarian of Basra : a true story from Iraq

Wangari's trees of peace : a true story from Africa

Doctor Proctor's fart powder

Excellent excuses (and other good stuff)

Everything's amazing (sort of)

Our home, our heartbeat

Drawn across borders : true stories of human migration

The little refugee

The paper boat

Stormy seas : stories of young boat refugees

My name is not refugee

Looking after Country with fire : Aboriginal burning knowledge with Uncle Kuu

Room on our rock

Teacup

Salih

A grain of hope

luwa tara luwa waypa : three kangaroos, three Tasmanian Aboriginal men

Where?

The treasure box

Happy in our skin

A hundred thousand welcomes

Come together : things every Aussie kid should know about the First Peoples

Don't forget

Ceremony

Blue flower

Intersection allies : we make room for all

Day break

The same but different

Common wealth

The runaway dandelion : adventures in sustainability

Jetty jumping

Open your heart to country

Just ask! : be different be brave, be you

Hey warrior

Swifty : the super-fast parrot

Wonderful Wasps

Took the children away

Swoop

Recreational Reading and Biographies

How do we relationship?. 1

Assassination classroom. Volume 2, Time for grown-ups

Assassination classroom. 3, Time for a transfer student

Heartstopper. Volume 5

Did I ever tell you this?

Galah : stories of life outside the city : people, places, community

Hope

In order to live : a North Korean girl's journey to freedom

Refugee stories : in their own words

Friends, lovers, and the big terrible thing : a memoir

Social queue

How to be ace : a memoir of growing up asexual

Darling girls

Salt River Road

Everyone on this train is a suspect

Love & pain : the epic times and crooked lines of life inside and outside Silverchair

Boy swallows universe

This is me : Ian Thorpe

The things that make us : life, loss and football

Richie : the man behind the legend

Pulling no punches

My life story

Safe haven

My summer of you. Volume 1 : The summer of you

My summer of you. Volume 2: The summer with you

Given. Volume 3

The way of the househusband. Volume 2

Ten steps to Nanette : a memoir situation

Greenlights

Perfect rhythm

The brutal truth : be careful what you wish for

The subtle art of not giving a f*ck : a counterintuitive approach to living a good life

Other words for home

Get up Mum

Ninth life of a diamond miner : a memoir

The ultimate hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy

New books 2022 - Sustainability

Sustainability

New books 2022-Sustainability gallery

Waste recycling and energy saving

Food insecurity and waste

Plastic pollution

Emergency food storage & survival handbook : everything you need to know to keep your family safe in a crisis

New books test