Use the search box in the top right hand corner of the library pages to find & access library resources..
Everything - both physical and online things
Library Search - the physical collections
eBooks - all of our ebooks
Streaming Video - over 2,500 videos from Clickview & Safety Hub
'View Online Go To' gives you access via your TasTAFE login.
You can request a standard to be open if it is relevant to your course.
Our collection of databases can be found on the front page of the library website.
General Onefile and Academic Onefile provide access to general topics while we have a number of more specific subject databases.
The databases provide a number of great tools, you can email or download articles as pdf or MP3, translate articles, or have the database read the text.
Plantfile is an amazing resource that helps you identify plants and pests. It includes over 3,500 plant species and 9,000 cultivars, and is aimed at horticultural workers, landscapers and home gardeners.
Reference Generator is a tool that supports you in the creation of Harvard references for a wide variety of formats. It covers everything from Twitter to dance. The tool shows you how a reference should look in your work and creates the reference from information you enter into a form.
You can find and access videos from these collections through the search box at the top of the library pages.
Clickview provides a large collection of video across many different subjects. There are a number of tools available in Clickview. You can create playlists, clips and interactive videos where students are asked questions as they watch.
SafetyHub this is a collection covering safety across many different industries. The videos offer closed captions in a number of different languages.
Your Study Guides are available from the front page of the library website. These pages are designed to provide a starting point for students studying across TasTAFE. Each of the guides look at a specific study area and bring together resources from the libraries and across the internet . We would love to hear your input to these guides. Feedback
We aim to make the library a welcoming, relaxed, safe, inclusive and comfortable space for all of our students and staff.
The library is a working space. You are welcome to bring your class or just yourself.
The library is a community space. We run events throughout the year and are happy to facilitate your events. Food and drink are welcome.
Teaching a new course or developing a new unit?
Your library staff can help you to find new resources from within our collections or elsewhere. We can create a list of physical and online resources for you.
We would love to hear your suggestions of items to add to the collection.
Library staff can give your new students an orientation designed for your subject area. We can include advice on how to use TasTAFE's networks and systems.
We can also develop sessions, with your course content in mind, around finding and evaluating information, researching and referencing.
Contact your local library staff to find out more.
The library offers a wide variety of equipment for loan.
You and your students can borrow laptops for use in the library or your classroom. You should book if you require class sets. We also offer a variety of other technology.
We support you and your students with issues such as TasTAFE login, use of wifi and using programs available in the TasTAFE environment.
The DigiLabs offer you access to new technologies such as Virtual Reality, 3D printing and robotics.
Your library staff can help you with your copyright questions.
You also have access to the Introduction to Copyright course on Canvas. The course provides a quick introduction to copyright in education, information you will need when attributing resources in your Canvas courses and general information dealing with different formats.
You can also find information about copyright on this page and InFOCUS.
Speak to your local library staff or email us your questions.
The library produces industry news emails each month where we aim to keep you informed with news from your industry area, teaching and VET.
If you are not receiving this email please contact us and we will add you to the subscribers.