Audio engineering 101 : a beginner's guide to music productionAudio Engineering 101 is a real-world guide for starting out in recording. If you have the dream, the ideas, the musical ability, and the creativity but don't know where to begin or how to bring these elements together, then this book is for you! Covering all you need to know about the recording process, Tim Dittmar provides a foundational overview on fundamental topics including equipment, studio sessions, and acoustics, as well as the basic principles of EQ and compression with specific examples to put to use.
Audio post production for television and filmThe focus of this book is audio post production, one of the last stages in the creative process. By the time it takes place, many crucial decisions will have been made regarding the sound - sometimes in consultation with the sound post production team, sometimes not!
Copyright (edited by Phillipa McGuinness)What rights do artists and creators have in a world where everything is free? Copyright is one of the central economic and creative issues of our time. We expect to be able to log on and read, watch or listen to anything, anywhere, anytime. Then copy it, share it, quote it, sample it, remix it. Does this leave writers, designers, filmmakers, musicians, photographers, artists and game developers with any rights at all?
Critical listening skills for audio professionalsAudio productions are made or broken by the skills of the recording engineer's ears. The ability to take what those ears hear, properly discern the sound, and then act accordingly to fix any subtle recorded audio problems, makes all the difference in the quality of the final tracks and master. The ability to instantly identify frequencies, hear hidden distortions, and instinctively reconcile conflicts in the EQ of instruments, audio elements, vocals and more are traits to those who have mastered the art of audio production.
Home studio essentialsHome Studio Essentials is designed to help you grasp the essential elements that comprise a home studio and consider the different building blocks required to achieve your goals. A broad view of the available equipment is taken in each category, with specific recommendations according to budget and user. Everything is covered, from all the computer hardware and software , to microphones, monitors, preamps, mixers, processors, and much more. Home Studio Essentials also includes interviews with studio owners from many diverse backgrounds who share how they overcame specific obstacles and challenges.
Music & copyrightThis book provides an in-depth analysis of key copyright issues that those in the music industry face in their day-to-day operations. It contains lots of practical information, references to other useful resources and relevant examples. Some of the areas we cover include: General points about copyright & myths debunked, Composing and song writing, Performing, Recording, Publishing, Use of Music in films, Miscellaneous income streams, Putting your music online, DJing, Collecting societies
Music business : a musician's guide to the Australian music industry by top Australian lawyers and deal makersThis is the fourth edition of this book about the business of the Australian music industry. The music business has suffered continuing upheaval since the last edition in 2006. Even then, the commercial and copyright landscape was changing rapidly. Despite the challenges, the industry has seen great innovation and change. It you operate in the business, you need a sound grasp of the underlying commercial and intellectual property principles upon which the whole enterprise is founded.
Music composition toolboxThe modules in Music composition toolbox are applicable to secondary or early tertiary students"--Introduction.
Musician's guide to Pro Tools"Put the power of Pro Tools to work for you with help from this no-nonsense guide. Thoroughly updated to cover the latest software versions, The Musician's Guide to Pro Tools, Second Edition, shows step-by-step how to record, edit, and mix professional-quality music.
The Oxford dictionary of musicFrom baroque and classical to jazz and Motown, The Oxford Dictionary of Music spans all areas of music across the eras in over 10,000 A to Z entries.
Pro tools 10 ignite!Begin with the basic techniques of recording, editing, and mixing MIDI and digital audio. Then, get ready to harness the power of Pro Tools 10 as you explore software effects, virtual instruments, and mixes that you can automate and edit with some of the best tools in the business.
The S.M.A.R.T guide to becoming a successful producer/engineerA producer is in charge of the creative aspects of recording. An engineer handles the technical aspects of recording. These two functions go hand in hand -- almost all great producers know a lot about engineering and most great engineers know a lot about producing. To that end, knowledge of both functions is essential to anyone producing a band or solo artist, whether the artist is you, or someone who has hired you to be their record producer. This book is written with the aspiring and practicing producer/engineer in mind -- the talented musician who wants to help others make inspired creative music.
The S.M.A.R.T guide to mixing and mastering audio recordingsWe live in an age where technological advances in the music industry are so commonplace that they seem to happen every day. Many of these advances have made it possible for almost anyone to develop a system capable of producing hit-quality audio. The only bad news is that by opening the doors for everyone, new audio technology has also made a lot more competition. If you're going to have an edge in an increasingly competitive industry, such as music and audio, mixing and mastering skills are essential.
Understanding and crafting the mix : the art of recordingUnderstanding and Crafting the Mix, 3rd edition provides theh framework to identify, evaluate, and shape your recordings with clear and systematic methods. Featuring numerous exercises, this third edition allows you to develop critical listening and analytical skills to gain greater control over the quality of your recordings. Sample production sequences and descriptions of the recording engineer's role as composer, conductor, and performer provide you with a clear view of the entire recording process.
Online Resources
Online Resources
Clickview - A Great Landscape Indigenous Music in Australia (Video)This programme looks at the many diverse new forms of music and the trail-blazers who paved the way for the new and diverse contemporary Aboriginal sounds. It looks at the early beginnings of choir and Country, to Hip Hop, Funk and Rap. It provides a broad coverage of just how many musicians are part of Australia's Indigenous musical entourage. It looks at how their stories and music are broadcast to the nation via new technologies such as national radio, MySpace, Facebook, and downloadable MP3 files.
Clickview - An Introduction to Composing (Video)Streaming video - Composing can be an amazing experience � whether you're a budding Mozart, a techno freak, a hard-core guitarist or a complete novice with just a computer at hand � self-expression has never been as easy. But you've still got to know the basics to get yourself heard. This programme looks at a variety of starting points for composition through the eyes of some of Australia's emerging composers and songwriters in a number of styles and genres. Featuring hip hop hero DJ Bonez, rock gods The Art Nova and Mark Pollard, and the head of composition at the Victorian College of the Arts, this programme covers what composition is, theme and variation, lyrics and music and form and structure. A practical and entertaining look at this popular subject.
Clickview - Genres in Music From Handel to Hip Hop (Video)Streaming video - Music and musicians throughout time have reflected fashion, culture, social and cultural events. Young people play music in rock bands, choirs, orchestras, play 'guitar-hero' and 'sing-star', consume music on TV, MySpace, iPods, YouTube, DVD and movies all reflecting many varied styles and genres of music and musical experience. This programme takes the viewer on a 'snapshot' tour of many musical genres taking in views of classical art music, rock and pop music, opera and musical theatre, 20th and 21st century film music and orchestral collaborations with heavy metal, rap and hip hop.
Clickview - Kool Skools Students Making Music (Video)Music is a defining part of youth culture, and today, young people are into a huge diversity of different music. In recent decades in Australian schools, increasing numbers of students have had access to creative music programmes. More than ever before students are able to explore different musical genres, express themselves through playing musical instruments, and get their music to audiences through live performances and recording.
Clickview - Live Demo VII: Music Videos (Video)Continuing his examination of various film genres Alex tackles one of the most popular - the music video - and gives his four rules for shooting them. After breaking down the SNL short "Wishing Boot", he takes us through a live demo shoot that provides a versatile approach for any music video. We finish the episode by looking at high-key lighting examples, and a demonstration combining it with different flavors of filtration and diffusion.
The complete Pro Tools shortcuts - (eBook)(Music Pro Guides). Newly expanded to cover the most recent updates of Pro Tools, this indispensable guide provides a complete list of over 250 shortcuts to help you get the most out of Avid's industry-leading digital-audio software with the least effort. Each shortcut shows the key combination needed on both Mac and Windows, what it does, in what context the command is available, and other important features. Packed with the latest keyboard commands, as well as valuable tips culled from author Chilitos's many years as a Pro Tools producer and instructor, The Complete Pro Tools Shortcuts is a must-have aide for any Pro Tools-based studio.
Music and the law - (eBook)Music and the Law is a book that examines the relationship between the law and the music industry in Australia. The book is specifically aimed at assisting and educating law and music students, as well as individuals involved in the music industry including musicians, managers, agents and music enthusiasts.
Producing great sound for film and video (ebook)In Producing Great Sound for Film and Video, Fourth Edition audio guru Jay Rose revises his popular text for a new generation of filmmakers. You'll learn practical, time-saving ways to get better recordings, solve problems with existing audio, create compelling tracks, and boost your filmmaking to the next level!
The Oxford dictionary of music (eBook)The Oxford Dictionary of Music' is a guide for all music lovers and performers, both amateur and professional. It brings together 12,500 entries covering musical subjects of all kinds in an authoritative and accessible way.
