eBooks available at TasTAFE
by Tanya Harvey on 2023-08-15T14:39:32+10:00 | 0 Comments
Defining Autism by
ISBN: 9781784503499
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
Offering a summary of the current state of knowledge in autism research, Defining Autism looks at the different genetic, neurological and environmental causes of, and contributory factors to autism. It takes a wide-ranging view of developmental and genetic factors, and considers autism's relationship with other conditions such as epilepsy. Shedding light on the vast number of autism-related syndromes which are all too often denied adequate attention, it shows how, whilst autism refers to a single syndrome, it can be understood as many different conditions, with the common factors being biological, rather than behavioral.
Difference Not Disorder by
ISBN: 9781784508630
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Interventions and educational approaches for children with autism spectrum disorders have developed in response to the different models for how autism has been constructed and understood. This book explores the evolving theories on autism and how these have impacted the interventions and outcomes in education. Drawing on 30 years of professional experience and detailed research, Harvey exposes the myths around autism, advocates for understanding autism as difference rather than impairment, and provides practical guidance on teaching and learning, behaviour management, addressing sensory and physical needs of children with ASD. This accessible overview shows how to put autism research into practice, learn from historic mistakes and create the most supportive environment for children on the autism spectrum.
Teacher Education and Autism by
ISBN: 9781785926082
Publication Date: 2019-04-18
This is a research-based guide that provides a framework for effective training around autism for teachers. An edited collection of short chapters, the book is full of practical activities and discussion points ideally suited for time-stretched trainee teachers, those leading training courses and busy teachers continuing to learn on the job. Focusing on the myriad ways that autism affects pupils and their education, it covers key training strategies around autism including maths, physical education, sex and relationships, behaviour management and more. Each contains the material for a session to be delivered to trainee teachers or to provide a unit of self-study. Combining research into the needs of trainee teachers, parents, and students with autism, this book offers an effective roadmap for teacher training and a better understanding of how to meet the needs of autistic pupils.
The Parents' Guide to Managing Anxiety in Children with Autism by
ISBN: 9781785926570
Publication Date: 2019-11-21
This guide for parents is a complete introduction to autism and anxiety. Drawing on the author's clinical experience working with children and their families, it provides parents and carers with everything they need to know to help support their child. It covers the basics such as what anxiety is, how it manifests behaviourally and why it is common in autism, before presenting CBT-informed practical strategies for managing a common range of anxieties: separation, social, performance, phobias, and generalised anxiety. It also has chapters dedicated to related behaviours including Pathological Demand Avoidance (PDA) and advice on managing meltdowns. This is a clear, concise and practical guide that answers any questions that parents and carers might have about anxiety and provides support strategies to help children with autism manage a range of anxieties.
Do Lemons Have Feathers? by
ISBN: 9781784502546
Publication Date: 2016-02-21
"Are you beginning to see past the disability and starting to appreciate the gift?" In this unashamedly honest book, David J. Burns draws on his own lived experience of Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) to provide guidance on how to take advantage of the supposed disadvantage. The book is filled with often hilarious anecdotes, spanning the confusion of his early diagnosis, to his marriage and life with his four children, as David proffers his advice on how to cope with everything from school work to flirting. Part memoir, part guide, and written with a refreshingly funny outlook, this book can be picked up and dipped into whether you're looking for encouragement, practical coping strategies, or a perspective of life as seen through the lens of ASD.
Supporting Positive Behaviour in Intellectual Disabilities and Autism by
ISBN: 9781787751330
Publication Date: 2019-12-19
This highly practical book is an accessible and grounded handbook for addressing challenging behaviour in children and adults with intellectual or developmental disabilities (IDD), including autism. It recognises that challenging behaviour does not appear out of nowhere and is meaningful for the person exhibiting it. Behaviour can be communicative and an important signifier of underlying sensory or environmental issues. Focusing on a person-centred approach throughout, the book has advice and strategies for working with the client's families, support staff and professionals. It also presents best practice for analysing and addressing challenging behaviour in various settings such as schools, hospitals and the home, all while stressing the need to keep the human story at the heart of any assessment and intervention. Each chapter features questions for discussion or reflection and exercises for the reader to complete. Informal, frank and free of jargon, this is indispensable for professionals, parents, and anyone working with people with intellectual disability or autism.
Simple Autism Strategies for Home and School by
ISBN: 9781784508173
Publication Date: 2019-03-21
Offering a unique overview of a child's point of view of life with autism, this guidebook will help parents and teachers better understand how this condition is experienced in day to day life. Organised by topic for easy reference, it explores the issues that can arise in everyday situations from toilet training to homework. Learning points, situation-specific activities, and further resources offer practical guidance, while discussion tools such as original poetry illustrate the perspectives of children with autism. Concise and accessible, this book takes a creative approach to understanding autism, and will be an invaluable reference book.
The A to Z of Special needs by
ISBN: 9781925145649
Publication Date: 2012
Cover -- Contents -- A look inside ... -- Introduction -- Acquired brain injury -- ADHD -- Asperger's syndrome -- Asthma -- Autism spectrum disorder -- Central auditory processing disorder -- Cerebral palsy -- Coeliac disease -- Cystic fibrosis -- Deaf-blindness -- Developmental delay -- Diabetes -- Down syndrome -- Dual and multiple disabilities and disorders -- Duchenne muscular dystrophy -- Dyscalculia -- Dyslexia -- Dyspraxia -- Epilepsy -- Hearing impairments -- Intellectual disability -- Obesity -- Oppositional defiant disorder -- Osteogenesis imperfecta -- Prader Willi syndrome -- Spina bifida -- Visual impairment -- Visual processing disorders -- Notes.
Inclusive Education for Autistic Children by
ISBN: 9781784506346
Publication Date: 2019-08-21
This book presents original, empirical research that reframes how educators should consider autism and educational inclusion. Rebecca Wood carefully unpicks common misapprehensions about autism and how autistic children learn, and reconsiders what inclusion can and should mean for autistic learners in school settings. Drawing on research and interwoven with comments from autistic child and adult contributors throughout, the book argues that inclusion will only work if the ways in which autistic children think, learn, communicate and exhibit their understanding are valued and supported. Such an approach will benefit both the learner and the whole classroom. Considering topics such as the sensory environment, support, learning and cognition, school curriculums, communication and socialisation, this much needed book offers ideas and insight that reflect the practical side of day-to-day teaching and learning, and shows how thinking differently about autism and inclusion will equip teachers to effectively improve teaching conditions for the whole school.
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Domestic Violence
New Books
Legislation Change- Disability Services and Inclusion Act 2023
Failed Ambitions- Kew Cottages and Changing Ideas of Intellectual Disabilities
New Books in TasTAFE Libraries - August/September
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Return to Blog
0 Comments.