A Dictionary of Plant ScienceseBook - Over 7,600 entries; Completely revised and updated with over 250 new entries, the third edition of this dictionary offers broad coverage of all aspects related to the field of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earth sciences. New entries such as evo-devo, sister relationship, polytomy, and parallel sequencing make this the most up-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available.
Discovering Australian Flora : An Australian National Botanic Gardens ExperienceeBook - Australia's complex, beautiful and diverse flora is showcased in stunning botanic gardens across the continent. Through exquisite colour photographs taken at the Australian National Botanic Gardens (ANBG), Fanny Karouta-Manasse celebrates the minute and intriguing details of these plants. Discovering Australian Flora explains how plants are displayed in the ANBG according to themes and provides clear and simple geographical, historical and botanical information. It also describes the unique features of Australian flora, including their reliance on fire and ability to survive in poor soil, and looks in detail at the two dominant genera in the Australian landscape - Eucalyptus and Acacia. This fresh and intimate view of some of Australia's native flora will serve not only as a companion to visitors to the ANBG but will also allow others to explore the wonders of Australia's botanical treasures. This book will appeal to both local and overseas readers wishing to become more familiar with Australian native flora. The striking photographs will appeal to anyone with an appreciation and passion for nature's beauty.
Plant Names : A Guide to Botanical NomenclatureeBook - Plant Names is an invaluable guide to the use of scientific, commercial and common names for plants and the conventions for writing them. Written by horticultural botanists at the Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria, this book covers the naming of wild plants, plants modified by humans, why plant names change, their pronunciation and hints to help remember them, along with updated sections on trademarks and plant breeder's rights. The final section provides a detailed guide to resources useful to people using plant names. This fourth edition is based on the recently updated International Code of Nomenclature for Algae, Fungi, and Plants and the International Code of Nomenclature for Cultivated Plants. It makes this technical information readily understandable to a range of readers, including botanists, publishers, professional horticulturists, nursery workers, hobby gardeners and anyone interested in plant names.
Featured Online Tools
This tool allows you to search over 3,500 plant records, you can search by Family Name, Botanical Name, Common Name, Cultivars/SYN, Plant Overview. Search results provide an image of the plant, plant overview and a plant profile report that you can save. Plantfile also provides information on pests, disease and weeds. There is also a botanical dictionary.
An excellent free online resource allowing the identification of Australian Eucalypt species
We acknowledge the Palawa people as the traditional custodians of the land on which we learn and work together and are committed to building relationships and opportunities for all Aboriginal people in our region.