Engineering: Engineering Blog

Whether you want to create custom or replacement parts or build an entire automobile body, this metalworking course for gearheads from best-selling automotive restoration author and professor Ed Barr will take you as far as your interests reach. Barr demystifies this seemingly black art with information on tools and basic skills and 14 customizable projects, fully illustrated with step-by-step color photography. First, you'll learn how to assemble your ideal toolkit, as well as how to build a power hammer and an English wheel. In the process, Barr will help you make informed choices based on available space and budget. Once you're all set up, he addresses the concepts of shape and form. The projects are presented in a way that you can easily apply them to their own vehicles, whatever they may be. Barr also takes the time to show how the projects can be accomplished with different available tools. As you go, you'll gain the skills and confidence for tackling the increasingly complex cases presented. Work your way up to building a fender utilizing the wheeling machine you built earlier; then move on to building a Model T speedster body and an Indy car, and later a challenging a Plymouth fender. The book even includes common “goofs” and how to avoid and, if necessary, correct them. Written in an engaging and approachable style, Sheet Metal Shaping serves equally well as a useful supplement to Barr’s previous Professional Sheet Metal Fabrication or as a must-have standalone volume for any fabricator’s library.

 

The most up-to-date dictionary of building, surveying, and civil engineering terms and definitions available.  Written by an experienced team of experts in the respective fields, it covers in over 8,000 entries the key areas of construction technology and practice, civil and construction engineering, construction management techniques and processes, and legal aspects such as contracts and procurement. With increasing emphasis on sustainability and energy efficiency of buildings and civil engineering key terms are addressed. Illustrations and entry-level web links complement entries where necessary.  Its wide coverage makes it the ideal reference for students of construction and related areas, as well as for professionals in the field.

 

Oxford dictionary of mechanical engineering 

This new Dictionary provides definitions and explanations for mechanical engineering terms in the core areas of design, stress analysis, dynamics and vibrations, thermodynamics, and fluid mechanics, in over 7,400 clear and concise A to Z entries, many illustrated. Topics covered include heat transfer, combustion, control, lubrication, robotics, instrumentation, and measurement. The dictionary also touches on related subject areas such as acoustics, bioengineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, aeronautical engineering, environmental engineering, and materials science.  This excellent new work is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is an essential reference for students of mechanical engineering and for anyone with an interest in the subject.