Featured Resources
Featured Library Search- WHS in business This link will take you to the library catalogue. Here you will find a list of hard copy books held by the library on the topic of workplace health and safety.
Featured Streaming Video
- Ergonomics Streaming video - "Ergonomics is the study of the relationship between people, the equipment they use and the physical environment in which they work. Ergonomics is about the application of the knowledge of this relationship to benefit well-being, performance and improve both short and long term health and safety. Subjects covered in the program include: Why and how ergonomics is applied; The general approach individuals should apply when addressing ergonomic hazards; The human body and work space design; Static and muscular effort; Controls and displays. Compromises and often small improvement are the hallmarks of almost every organisation's commitment to ergonomics - however, long term results can be dramatic. Applied properly, ergonomic principles will improve productivity, morale, health and safety. This program is suitable for all in the workforce for an introduction to ergonomics and to reinforce the principles that must be employed when addressing ergonomic problems."--Publisher's website.
- Ergonomics in the Real World Streaming video - All most everything you see, touch, smell, taste and hear is designed for humans by humans. Ergonomics seeks to understand and improve human interactions with products, equipment, environments and systems. This Australian-made, curriculum fit program investigates how and why ergonomic design is so important, from the perspectives of safety, comfort, performance, aesthetics and ease of use. The program focuses on two case studies - the Rota Sole shoe and the 'Last Beach House' - and explores the various aspects of ergonomics and its relationship with design technology in reference to the environment, sport and everyday products.
- Office safety Streaming video - "This program has been produced to inform and educate on the safety issues that exist in the office environment. It looks at the common and often overlooked hazards that could exist in an average office, and how these hazards can be recognised and controlled to reduce the risks to individuals working in offices. The program provides: An understanding that although the typical office doesn't contain the obvious life-threatening hazards of some work environments, the hazards that do exist in the office can nonetheless cause real damage. An awareness of the different kinds of hazard that exist in the office, such as slip, trip and fall hazards, manual handling hazards, fire hazards and electrical hazards. An understanding of the principles behind workstation ergonomics, and how these principles can be used to avoid injuries and protect health. Knowledge of the correct steps to be taken to avoid accidents and injuries in the office environment, such as good housekeeping, correct lifting and carrying, safe use of electricity, and fire prevention and firefighting methods. A heightened awareness of the issue of workplace safety when applied specifically to the office situation. It's easy to consider the office a perfectly safe work environment, and forget about the hazards that can exist. Just because you work in an office, it doesn't mean you shouldn't be concerned for your own health and safety, and that of your colleagues."--Provided by publisher.
- Office fire management Streaming video - "Fire is one of the most difficult things to control despite our increased ability to create and manage our environment. It is a fact that approximately 70% of all businesses that suffer from a major fire fail within 3 years. Over 50% do not even re-open. Almost all office fires start small. With established fire fighting procedures and appropriate, well maintained fire fighting equipment many fires can be easily controlled. Topics covered in this program include: Fundamentals of fire fighting; Immediate safety of the individual; Calling the Fire Brigade; Attacking the fire if safe to do so; Evacuation if necessary; Types of office fires most likely to occur; Fire fighting equipment in the office; Operational details of different pieces of fire fighting equipment; Details of portable fire extinguishers; Personal safety; Assessment of most likely hazards. Office fires do happen and a knowledge of what to do should a fire occur in your work area can prevent damage and even save lives."--Publisher's website.
- Building and office evacuation Streaming video - "Because a successful building evacuation requires the calm co-operation of all personnel, this program has been designed for wide spread usage within the organisation to make all staff aware of the correct procedures. As part of an induction program, or ongoing safety training, this program can add a great deal to discussion and understanding of evacuation procedures. The basic principles covered are: 1. The Individuals Responsibilities: Know what to do when an emergency is detected; Familiarise yourself with evacuation procedures; Know your role during an evacuation; Act responsibly and reduce the risk of irrational behaviour; Ensure your building has a well rehearsed evacuation plan; Know the role and acknowledge the authority of evacuation wardens; Know the assembly point on your floor; Know which stairway you will be using and the alternatives; Know where to assemble when you have reached the ground floor. 2. The Types of Emergencies: Gas leak, chemical spill or leak, bomb threat or fire are all situations which may result in an evacuation of your building. Specific action is necessary in each case and is appropriately detailed. 3. The Evacuation and Role of the Wardens: Chief Warden, Floor Wardens and Runners play a vital part in any successful evacuation. The colour coding of the hard hats and their roles are clearly described as well as the function of the Master Emergency Communication Point. Back-up Wardens, communication systems, records of people being evacuated, signs, mobility impaired people, central control point, assembly point and so on are all factors which have to be considered in developing and implementing a successful emergency evacuation plan for your building."--Publisher's website.
- Office Good Manual Handling Practices Streaming video - Even an office environment can present many manual handling risks. Using correct manual handling posture and techniques reduces the risk of injury. This snippet demonstrates a number of regular office tasks which are a common cause of injury. This is mainly due to incorrect manual handling posture and twisting of the body while lifting and carrying. This snippet demonstrates the correct way to complete these tasks while maintaining correct manual handling posture and techniques.
- Occupational Health and Safety in the Office Streaming video - In today's society, occupational health and safety is everywhere, and the office environment is no different. There are always health and safety issues to be aware of. In this programme we take a good look at the legislative standards, office layout and design, ergonomics, manual handling and the responsibilities of employers and employees. A comprehensive overview which includes some surprising hidden safety issues. Work effectively with others Use business technology Maintain workplace safety Maintain business technology
- SafetyHub - Safety Basics This link opens in a new window Videos explaining the basic principles of safety at work. Login using your TasTAFE username and password.
- SafetyHub - Office Safety This link opens in a new window All you need to know about being safe in the office. Login using your TasTAFE username and password.
Featured Databases
- Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Login with your TasTAFE username and password.
- Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more. Login with your TasTAFE username and password.
- General Onefile This link opens in a new window Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research. Login with your TasTAFE username and password.
- Academic Onefile Select This link opens in a new window Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research. Login with your TasTAFE username and password.
Searches for articles available in the databases
- Search for 'Workplace Safety' (OneFile) Database search - Use your TasTAFE login to view articles on Workplace safety.
- Search for 'Computer Safety' (OneFile) Database search - Use your TasTAFE login to view articles on computer safety
- Search for 'Safety in Small Businesses' (OneFile) Database search - Use your TasTAFE login to view articles on workplace safety in Small Business
Other Useful Guides
Websites
- Work-related psychological health and safety (pdf) Safe Work Australia National guidance material: Work-related psychological health and safety: a systematic approach to meeting your duties, January 2019
- Display Screen Equipment (video) Safety Hub video This program aims to raise awareness of DSE issues in the workplace. By paying close attention to the requirements of the job and the design of the workplace, the threat to individuals’ health and safety at work can be made as small, and the workplace experience made as comfortable, as possible.
- Heads Up - Better Mental Health in the Workplace Heads Up is all about giving individuals and businesses the tools to create more mentally healthy workplaces. Developed by Beyond Blue and supported by the Mentally Healthy Workplace Alliance, Heads Up calls on business leaders to make a commitment and start taking action in their workplaces. It also encourages everyone in the workplace to play their part in creating a mentally healthy working environment, take care of their own mental health, and look out for their colleagues. This website provides a wide range of resources, information and advice for individuals and organisations – all of which are designed to offer simple, practical and, importantly, achievable guidance. You can also create an action plan that’s tailored for your business. This interactive tool will help you define and prioritise your goals, identify risk areas and take a step-by-step approach to creating a mentally healthy workplace.
Mentally Healthy Businesses
Mentally Healthy Businesses
Is your workplace bad for your mental health? State of Workplace Mental Health in Australia is a 2014 study by beyondblue and TNS. It claims that "one in five Australian employees report that they have taken time off work due to feeling mentally unwell in the past 12 months" (p1).
What can your business do to improve the mental health of its employees? Check out the Heads Up website which had a range of resources, information and advice to assist businesses and individuals create and maintain a mentally healthy workplace.