Aged Care - Diversity Header
CHCDIV001 - Work with Diverse People
Featured Resources
Featured Library Search
Featured eBooks
- Faiths, Religions, Beliefs in Modern Australia This book encompasses all the faiths, religions and beliefs present in modern Australia, telling the story of their development and detailing the belief systems. All Christian denominations are included, as are the various segments of the other major religions.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.
- The Religions Book This book surveys the world's religions, from Buddhism to Zoroastrianism, providing insight into the philosophy and practices of each religion. Includes intriguing artwork, flow charts, and diagrams.
Country Information - eBooks
- Central, South & Southeast Asia This volume provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries in Central, South, and Southeast Asia.
- East Asia & The Pacific This volume provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries in East Asia and the Pacific.
- Eastern & Southern Africa This volume provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries in Eastern and Southern Africa.
- Middle East & North Africa This volume provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries in central, south, and southeast Asia.
- Western & Central Africa This volume provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries in Western and Central Africa.
- Western Europe This volume provides insight into the social, cultural, economic, historical, and religious practices of countries in Western Europe.
Featured Streaming Video
- Cultural Diversity in Nursing Practice e-video - Professional nursing requires a highly sophisticated set of communication skills. Every day, nurses must effectively communicate with people of differing religions, ages, sexes and cultures. To deliver the most appropriate and effective medical treatment to such a broad spectrum of people, nurses must have an understanding of the way different cultures interact.
- Diversity Rules OK! The Changing Nature of Families Streaming video - Defining the family in today's society is not an easy task. This video does make the attempt! In the process we explore various types of families including nuclear, sole parent, blended, same-sex and extended families.
Featured Databases
- Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window Access a range of periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. Login with your TasTAFE username and password.
Project Implicit
Are you interested in testing exploring the beliefs, attitudes and assumptions that you may be unwilling to admit to others?
If so, take The Implicit Association Test. In many cases it will reveal an attitude that you didn't realise you had eg you may state that you believe that women and men should be equally associated with science, but you might automatically associate men with science more often than you do women. The test can reveal thoughts and feelings that are outside your conscious awareness and control, and reveal hidden biases and prejudices. Fascinating stuff!
The SBS Cultural Atlas
Want to know more about other cultures and societies?
The Cultural Atlas by SBS is a great place to start.
The world map makes it easy to navigate but if the map isn't your style try the list of countries organised alphabetically with images of their flags. Are you looking for a specific term related to cultural values, behaviours or concepts? Try out the glossary - extremely comprehensive and easy to search.
We highly recommend this fantastic online resource by the SBS.
Check it out at https://culturalatlas.sbs.com.au/
Websites
Cultural Diversity- A Fairer World Established in 1985, A Fairer World is a values-based community organisation that provides ways for schools, workplaces and the Tasmanian community to learn, connect and act together for positive social change.
- Aged Care Diversity Framework action plans This collection includes action plans to address the needs of older Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, senior Australians from CALD backgrounds and LGBTI elders. It also includes a government action plan and a shared action plan which outlines actions to support all diverse groups.
- Australian Human Rights Commission Australian Human Rights Commission-includes downloadable brochures and PDFs
- Caring for Older Australians Australian Government Productivity Commission - Caring for Older Australians - Ethnic Communities’ Council of NSW: Caroline Romeo and Joyce Van Akkeren in Public Hearings
- Cultural safety - What does it mean for our work practice? Williams, Robyn
- Face the facts: Cultural Diversity Human Rights Commision
- Multicultural Australia: The Way Forward Australian Government, Department of Social Services
- Multicultural Australia: United in Diversity Australian Government - Department of Social Services
- Multicultural access and equity resources Australian Government, Home Affairs,
- Partners in Culturally Appropriate Care (PICAC) PICAC supports aged care service providers to deliver care that meets the needs of culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) people. You can access their workshops, training, information sessions, fact sheets and guides.
- People from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds Australian Government myagedcare
Indigenous
- Apology to Australia’s Indigenous Peoples Australian Government
- A timeline history of multicultural Australia - Before the Australian Nation Making Multicultural Australia
- A timeline history of multicultural Australia - Before the Australian Nation - European invasion and settlement Making Multicultural Australia
Interpreters