Skip to main content

Teachers: What is Referencing?

A collection of resources for TasTAFE teachers.

What is Referencing?

Referencing is acknowledging the use of using other people's thoughts and words within your work. By referencing your content, you are lessening the risk of plagiarising another creators work.

Why Reference?

  • Provide the creator of the work with an acknowledgement.
  • To avoid plagiarising.
  • Allow other readers to sources of information cited in your work.
  • Establish the credibility of your ideas.

Do you require your students to reference?

Do you ask your students to reference their assignments? If the answer is yes, then it is even more critical that you correctly reference your work. If as a teacher, you have used another person's ideas or content in your coursework or assessments, including resources such as a PowerPoint presentation or your Canvas course, you need to reference (cite) all your sources used.
Why?
You are setting your students an example of best practice if you refer yourself. It shows your students that you are serious in ensuring that you acknowledge other peoples' work be it written or in image format. Another reason to get your students to reference is that you can see what sources they are using and whether the information is suitable in developing their knowledge and skills relevant to the qualification level.

Two Parts to Referencing

There are two parts to referencing - an in-text citation and a fuller version of the in-text citation in your Reference List or Bibliography. 

You use an in-text citation when you use (cite) directly from a creator's work whether it be from a book, a page of a website, in a PowerPoint presentation or Creative Commons image. An in-text citation is brief in description usually consists of the creator or creators' names, the year of publication or production of the source and the page number where relevant.  

A citation in a Reference List can cite details such as the creator or creators' initials and surname, the title of work, edition statement (if applicable), publication or production details, place of publication or creation and year of release.  A Reference List or Bibliography is an alphabetical listing of all sources used in providing direct quotations or as only background reading. 

 

Here are two (2) examples of in-text referencing. Harvard-Author Date Referencing permits both styles of in-text citations. 

'Referencing is the process of acknowledging other people's work when  you have used it in your assignment or research' (Pears, R & Shields, G, 2016, p.1) 

OR 

Pears and Shields (2016, p.1) state the view that referencing should be applied in your assignment to acknowledge other peoples' work. 

Why do I Need to Reference?

If as a teacher, you have used another person’s ideas or content in your coursework, assessments, in a PowerPoint presentation or your Canvas course, you need to reference (cite) all your sources used. 

Help on how to reference is always available via the library (in person, email or via LibChat). Please contact your next TasTAFE library. Available through our Libraries home page is an excellent Harvard-Author Date referencing tool titled Reference Generator. An Australian made resource, it allows the user to create citations for a suite of different source types and their corresponding in-text sample.

Do I have to reference my PowerPoint Presentation?

Yes, you do. The same principles of referencing any work apply to your PowerPoint presentation. It is essential that you correctly reference your PowerPoint presentation for two reasons. They are to ensure that you are acknowledging your sources; and that your students are aware of where you got your information from, so they can correctly cite them if used within their assignment tasks.  

If most of your PowerPoint presentation is your own words, you do not need to reference those slides.   

If you have referred to websites, videos, articles from library databases or anything else that is not your work then you need to reference this on each slide and then in a final slide containing a reference list or bibliography.    

Here is a PDF which explains referencing:

How does a student reference my PowerPoint?

 

In most cases, students will only want to reference a website or video, for example, which you have cited in your PowerPoint  Here, they are not referencing your PowerPoint as such. For instance, in your PowerPoint, you have a link which directs students to a website. In this case, the site is the principal source of information, and therefore its details form the basis of the reference citation. Likewise, a student can cite your PowerPoint in their reference list or bibliography.  The student is treating your presentation as a whole work. 

Class-delivered PowerPoint

Teacher

 

 

 

Sample Citation

Brown, S 2020, Referencing using the Harvard System, PowerPoint,

Study Skills, TasTAFE, delivered 1 June 2020.


Year of publication

Title of presentation

(underlined or

single quotation marks)

[PowerPoint

presentation]

Unit name
Organisational  name
Delivery date

 

Canvas-delivered PowerPoint

Teacher                               

 

 

 

Sample Citation

Brown, S 2020, Referencing using the Harvard System, Available at: http://canvas.tastafe.tas.edu.au, Accessed 1 June 2020.


Year of publication

Title of presentation   

(underlined or

single quotation marks)      

[PowerPoint presentation]    
Unit name
Organisational name
Accessed date

 

Why do I need to reference in Canvas? 

Any sources used in your Canvas Course need referencing. You also should cite any content developed by yourself, such as MP4 file demonstrating a skill to your class.   Why, because you are yourself showing best practice to your students by putting principle into practice and permitting your class to access and cite the content you have within the Canvas course. 

 

How do my students reference from Canvas?

Students need to reference any sources theuse in their assignments, and this includes those placed by a teacher into their Canvas course. For example, as a teacher, your content might consist of uploaded PDFs and linked addresses to external websites and other sourcesNo matter what the resource is, it needs referencing, and as such citations for different resources do vary in layout and level of information required for differing formats.  

Referencing Canvas content is similar to citing sources on a PowerPoint presentation. If you are directing your class to an external website or an online PDF, then each source’s details are used to create the citations. Similarly, a student can treat your Canvas content, be it in, for example, Announcements or Discussions as a single source; and if so, it needs citing.

How does a student reference my PowerPoint?

Here are some sample citations created using Reference Generator Links to all resources mentioned in this section are below.  

Reference Generator allows the user to make Harvard Author-Date citations for many types of resources. The database is comprehensive with its referencing examples. It can be accessed from anywhere so long as the user has an existing TasTAFE username, password, and Internet connectivity.

Straightforward in use, the software directs and assists in the creation of in-text citations and complete reference across twelve (12) resource categories such as BookPeriodical article - websiteSpecial publication or material and Website

Additional information regarding Plagiarism and Referencing from a student's perspective can be found at the Libraries Help: Plagiarism and Referencing page, including an explanation of a Student's responsibility to "provide authentic original assessment evidence and not to engage in plagiarism or cheating in any assessment" as stated within the TasTAFE's Student Code of Conduct.

 

Book with one author

Edwards, L 2020, How to read a suit: a guide to changing men’s fashion from the 17th to the 20th century, Bloomsbury Visual Arts, London.

 

ClickView Video

‘Cultural diversity in nursing practice’ 2011, ClickView, Sydney. 

 

Creative Commons Image

Baker, S 2016, Body language tells the story on she points to a man, Photograph, Flickr, viewed 16 February 2020, <https://www.flickr.com/photos/littlebiglens/26187457292>, Creative Commons license: <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/> 

 

Database journal article

Eddy, C, Schuster, R & Sase, E 2020, ‘An all-hazards approach to pandemic COVID-19: clarifying pathogen transmission pathways toward the public health response’, Journal of environmental health, vol. 82, no. 9, p. 28+, viewed 11 June 2020, Gale OneFile Nursing and Allied Health, Gale. 

 

Need Help?

Need help with referencing? Contact your nearest TasTAFE Library, and we can assist.